shoppe forum gallery chat classes blog newsletter contact calendar getting started facebook today\'s posts tutorials

Thread: Camera Question

Camera Question

I know a lot of you do professional photos and a lot of you take awesome photos. DH just bought a new "toy" a 2007 Can-am 4 wheeler, SO I get a new camera!!! LOL I am not a professional but I take a LOT of photos of my kids. I am looking for a good digital camera to use in all situations....school concerts, church activities, outdoors, and especially sports. DS is in Basketball, Football, and Track and DD is in Wrestling. I am looking at the following cameras:
    Nikon D80
    Sony Cybershot DSC-R1
    Canon EDS 350D/Digital Rebel XT

Which do you think in the best camera??

ANY input or advice would be appreciated including other cameras if any others are out there!!

THANKS!!

What kind of camera do you have now? Also what do you want in a camera?

I have a Kodak Easy Share C340......just a basic digital!! LOL

I just want a SIMPLE point and shoot but a camera that will also take low light action photos.

My stepmom has a Sony DSC-H5 that I really like too.

Brandi, we use the nikon D70s and D200 at our photo studio. I have *heard* that the D80 is the same as the D200 except that the body is plastic instead of metal and much lighter.

We have been very happy with our nikons. All of the professional digi cameras we have had so far we have HAD to use the raw format to shoot, because shooting jpeg made the photos look very bad. We are actually shooting jpeg most of the time now that we have the nikons and are VERY happy with the results.

HTH