PDA

View Full Version : This Can't Be Good



mosser77
01-17-2008, 08:07 PM
So I'm working on my round 3 layout, trying to use the horizontal type tool. An error message comes up "Your request cannot be completed because there is not enough memory (RAM)." Yikes. Does that mean in PSE or on my entire computer....whaddo i do? whaddo i do?

pSyren
01-17-2008, 08:19 PM
I don't use PSE but I used to get problems like this in photoshop with my old computer.
Save everything and then close PSE and reboot your PC.
If it's just your memory/swap files filling up that may be all you need to do.
Does PSE use layers? flattening some layers will reduce the amount of memory it's using too.
I haven't even started my round 3 yet :(

mosser77
01-17-2008, 08:22 PM
okay thanks, i'm saving now and will go to bed and try again in the morning!

mosser77
01-17-2008, 08:40 PM
ugh. it won't let me save either. i closed everything, deleted some old programs...any other suggestions?

Melody
01-17-2008, 08:43 PM
I don't actually know anything about computers, but maybe close anything else you have open and try again? Good luck Erin. I'll cross my fingers for you.

mosser77
01-17-2008, 08:59 PM
No worries! Would you believe it was a bad font? I found a thread at DST that said sometimes a bad font will give you that message...sho'nuf...I had installed three today - don't know which one was bad b/c i got rid of them all. Once i uninstalled them and went to save again, it saved like a charm. Phew. Now I'm going to bed. Really.

Helen
01-17-2008, 09:02 PM
glad you figured it out - and thanks for sharing - i've not had this problem before - I would never have guessed a font could do this - will remember this one.

get some sleep Erin unless your nerves are shot.

FairyDust
01-17-2008, 09:10 PM
I sent you a PM to try to help out...but I am so glad you figured it out. I might not have asked specifically about a font...but I definately would have asked if you had installed or changed ANYTHING today or recently...and then we could have worked backwards from that. Great work...and what a relief, eh??!!!

Take care...sleep well.:hi:

Melody
01-17-2008, 09:11 PM
Oh wow Erin. I 'm glad you figured it out. I'll have to remember that in case I ever get that message.

emst
01-17-2008, 09:33 PM
No worries! Would you believe it was a bad font? I found a thread at DST that said sometimes a bad font will give you that message...sho'nuf...I had installed three today - don't know which one was bad b/c i got rid of them all. Once i uninstalled them and went to save again, it saved like a charm. Phew. Now I'm going to bed. Really.

Wow Erin I never would have thought that something like that would happen because of a font. I know in my PSE4 I would be doing a layout and when I would get to the end to do my title or whatever, I would start to type something and everything would crash, now it makes me think it was a bad font that did it. I finally had to make sure that I would stop and save before I used any fonts, too many times I would have to start my layouts over.
Hope you don't have any more problems.
Oh another thing, empty your recycle bin too if it happens again.

anitastreet
01-17-2008, 10:55 PM
I've gotten errors like that from time to time when I have had too much open at once, or I've had my graphics programs (either psp or pse) open for a long time and have done a lot of stuff...so much is saved to memory for all those ctrl-z's we love so much. Just save your project and reboot..thats enough to clear your cache and it should be okay. I wouldn't worry about it being related to your computer unless it's something that keeps happening over and over!

good luck!