PDA

View Full Version : Facebook copyright?



Els AW
08-08-2012, 08:15 AM
When I wanted to show my layout of the Junkie challenge, I got this warning:

http://www.mijnalbum.nl/Foto-V47OA7AS-G.jpg

What does this mean?

I did use two or three items of American Story, but a lot of other kits as well.

criostirado
08-08-2012, 10:20 AM
Were you using Andrea Golds part??? All of hers does that!!! there are a few other designers that do that have that embedded in their graphics as well....I believe its to protect her from people stealing her graphics...but as long as you are following the TOU you should be good to go!! I am sure she or someone else will answer about this as well!

Amanda
08-08-2012, 11:37 AM
Hmmm- I would love more info on that as well.

Els AW
08-08-2012, 11:45 AM
I used the paper of American Story, one paper of Boy Stuff and one element of that kit.

But how is it possible that Facebook recognize this?
I mean, I put all the layers together and placed it as one .jpg with the name Junkie Challenge!

I also used a frame and element of OTBDS, a element of Maria, Created by Jill and a flower of Bettie scrap...!

Something like Big Brother? LOL!

I even didn't get the change to write proper credits, this was what FB came up with.

britnkaysmemaw2
08-08-2012, 03:28 PM
Wow....I too want to know the answer to this one!

stater
08-08-2012, 04:40 PM
Wow....I too want to know the answer to this one!

Interesting... me too.

Els AW
08-11-2012, 01:01 PM
Well, it gets more interesting: now I used in one layout a lot of things (papers plus elements) from "American Story" and "Boy Stuff" from Andrea.

And guess what: Facebook thinks it's okay! LOL!
Didn't get a warning this time.

britnkaysmemaw2
08-11-2012, 01:51 PM
Did you send Andrea and/or Debra a PM about this?

Darlene Currie
08-11-2012, 01:51 PM
I've had the odd thing happen like that too. Like one time I was posting one of our collab kits to my FB page and it said it couldn't do it. I waited a while and then tried again and it worked. It could be just a glitchy thing in FB. But I really don't know for sure either. Would be interested to find out.

Els AW
08-11-2012, 11:07 PM
No, I didn't, should I do that?
It is not a big deal, rather funny to see this happens with one or two items and then I use a lot of items, and facebook doesn't 'see' that!



Did you send Andrea and/or Debra a PM about this?

Andrea
08-11-2012, 11:18 PM
Oh dear, I did not know this was happening. Facebook is reading the metadata and assuming it is copyrighted. I really thing that's unnecessary and unfair. When you created this layout, did you start with one of my papers as the background and build on that? You might be able to avoid this by always starting with a blank document and adding the elements and papers into the blank document. Let me know if that works. I'm really sorry this is happening.

Els AW
08-11-2012, 11:23 PM
Oh dear, I did not know this was happening. Facebook is reading the metadata and assuming it is copyrighted. I really thing that's unnecessary and unfair. When you created this layout, did you start with one of my papers as the background and build on that? You might be able to avoid this by always starting with a blank document and adding the elements and papers into the blank document. Let me know if that works. I'm really sorry this is happening.

Thank you for your answer Andrea, and in fact I think I did start with one of your papers.
In the layout of yesterday, I started with a blank one!

Still, if I merge all layers together and make a .jpg of it, are there still metatags to be read?
Just wondering - as I said before: no big deal!

I was able to show my layout and put a comment to it, that I didn't know why Facebook was saying this ;-))

donakat
08-12-2012, 10:52 AM
I did a test, and it was as you suggested, Andrea. Starting with a copyrighted paper and doing a save as under a new name retains the metadata on the original paper file--copyright information, kit name, etc., even on a flattened jpg.

I tried something else, and started with a new empty file and used the place in Photoshop command from Bridge for one of the copyrighted elements in one of Andrea's kits, then flattened and saved the file. That file did not retain any metadata from the placed file.

So it's good practice to always start with a clean new file and drag over the papers and elements. You can delete the extra blank layer from the original file at any time. That way, there's also no chance you'll accidentally overwrite the original paper file as you might if you'd started with that.

britnkaysmemaw2
08-12-2012, 01:13 PM
You ladies are a wealth of information! So glad you knew what was happening!

Thanks Dona and Andrea! Great info to know!

Els AW
08-12-2012, 01:36 PM
Yes, I agree!
Thanks for the information ;-)

stater
08-12-2012, 09:22 PM
Interesting & good to know. TY

PattyB
09-17-2012, 07:18 AM
Wow, I never knew this. Thanks so much for sharing ladies!

Bright Eyes
09-21-2012, 10:12 AM
I have always started with a blank layer so I never inadvertantly lose my background paper by saving things on top of it. Another reason is if I wish to turn my layout into a quick page, I need the blank layer underneath it. Now with copywrite issues if the paper is without a blank layer underneath, I am doublely glad that it has been my practise to always have the blank layer. The blank layer has very little byte space so I leave it in place on all my PDS files.