PDA

View Full Version : do you take presets out of PSE?

MamaSchwich
02-05-2010, 09:55 AM
Okay, so I couldn't decide if I should put this in newbies or not... I kind of thought it might be something that a newbie wouldn't be interested in yet, but I AM a newbie, so, there you go...
Anyway, my PSE 7 is running suuuuuupppppper duper slowly. How many of you take your presets out of the folder, then add them back in when you need them? Is this feasible (I do use the Add-o-matic)? I don't organize my photos the same way most people do, so I don't really think I want acdsee, either. Any advice? I am tired of waiting for every move to take ages in PSE.
BTW, I am running a crazy new system with a i7 quad core (really 8 processors, I guess) and 4 gb RAM, so it's not the computer's fault... It was a lot faster before I put 96 styles in (but I loves me my styles). Help!

j_camargo6
02-05-2010, 11:50 AM
Hi :)

I use PS CS4 now, but I'm pretty sure I did the same when I had PSE6......I keep all my presets in folders on my EHD (backed up, OF COURSE!) and open the folder when I want to load something. Until I restart the program, it will look for that type of preset in that folder.

Did that make any sense? It does in my head but doesn't always translate, LOL....

MamaSchwich
02-05-2010, 02:17 PM
Does that mean that you just take them out and put them back in before you open PSE? Or do I need to uninstall/install them each time? They are all installed now, of course...
Do you not have to do this with PS CS4? I have the opportunity to buy it as a student before I graduate in May, and it will only be 189 or so... that might just push me over the line...

MamaSchwich
02-07-2010, 03:01 PM
I know I've seen them somewhere before, but now I can't even find them to take them out... argh... where did they go?

Gem
02-07-2010, 03:23 PM
They are probably in the Programs folder and then under Adobe, Photo Shop Elements and then probably presets or something similiar.

agarzaldynrd