PDA

View Full Version : Cannot open .png files in PSE6 on Mac

ScrapSewKnit
07-30-2009, 04:53 PM
I am fairly new to digital scrapbooking, and brand new to my Mac. I downloaded a ton of QPs that I would like to use to get caught up on some photo backlog. They all came through as .png files, and I cannot open them on PSE6. Everything I'm finding online says I should be able to. When I try, they just show up as grey and won't give me the option to open them. If I save them as .jpg and then open them, I lose the transparency and can't load photos behind the opening.

Can someone help me here? I have nearly 90 QPs downloaded, I can't open any of them, and I am ready to pull out my hair!! Thank you.

Cheers,
Sarah L

Andrea
07-30-2009, 05:32 PM
Did you download them all from the same place or were they created by various different designers?

I am fairly new to digital scrapbooking, and brand new to my Mac. I downloaded a ton of QPs that I would like to use to get caught up on some photo backlog. They all came through as .png files, and I cannot open them on PSE6. Everything I'm finding online says I should be able to. When I try, they just show up as grey and won't give me the option to open them. If I save them as .jpg and then open them, I lose the transparency and can't load photos behind the opening.

Can someone help me here? I have nearly 90 QPs downloaded, I can't open any of them, and I am ready to pull out my hair!! Thank you.

Cheers,
Sarah L

ScrapSewKnit
07-30-2009, 07:38 PM
They were created by different designers. Some were freebies, some were purchased. It doesn't matter - I can't open any .png files, not QPs, not elements, not anything.

donakat
07-30-2009, 09:07 PM
See the help forum here (http://www.elementsvillage.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39380) for a possible solution to this problem.
Dona

ScrapSewKnit
07-30-2009, 10:31 PM